College of Liberal Arts Advising

 
Students will need their Pipeline username and password to schedule an appointment.
 
Schedule an Advising Appointment

INSTRUCTIONS


The College of Liberal Arts realizes that competent and caring advisors are an essential part of a college student's academic success. We encourage you to find your advisor and meet with him or her regularly. This will not only help your academic progress but can provide you valuable insight on careers or further educational opportunities.

We have designed this page so that students, faculty, and staff have advising information and links to resources in a centralized location. We hope that you use these resources along with regular visits with your advisor.

If you have declared a major, please contact the department secretary and ask to be assigned a faculty advisor. For more information on declaring a major please click here.

If you are a current CLA student and cannot reach your faculty advisor, please contact your College Advisor assigned to you in Pipeline. If you are a prospective CLA student, please contact the College Academic Advisor below assigned to your major and last name. To make sure that all your forms have been completed for graduation please contact our Graduation Coordinator. For information on careers, help preparing your resume, or practice for interviews please contact the Career Coordinator.

For general questions, call Andrea Smith at 615-904-8567.

 BB
Dr. Brad Baumgardner
Advising Manager

Jazz Studies
Music Education
Music Theory & Composition

Library 238
615-494-7649
Brad.Baumgardner@mtsu.edu

SB
Sonja Burk
Academic Advisor

Organization Comm & Comm Studies
 Philosophy
Religious Studies
 Theatre & Dance
(A-M)

Library 210
615-898-5089
Sonja.Burk@mtsu.edu

Advisor, FL&L, GS and PS
Erin Coker
Academic Advisor

Music Industry
Music Performance
(A-Z)
Organization Comm & Comm Studies
 Philosophy
Religious Studies
 Theatre & Dance
(N-Z)

Library 208
615-904-8180
Erin.Coker@mtsu.edu

 Ella Weaver
Ella Weaver
Internship Coordinator

Library 202
615-898-2602
Ella.Weaver@mtsu.edu

KA
Karen Austin
Academic Advisor

Art & Design
Sociology/Anthropology
(A-M)

Library 214
615-494-7648
Karen.Austin@mtsu.edu

Christinaann Graves
Christina-Ann Graves
Academic Advisor

Art & Design
Sociology/Anthropology
(N-Z)

Library 212
615-494-7662
Christina-Ann.Graves@mtsu.edu

PS
Peggy Slater
Graduation Coordinator

Library 240
615-898-2787
Peggy.slater@mtsu.edu 

 SP
Sarah Perkins
Academic Advisor

Africana Studies
English
History
(A-M)

Library 232
615-494-7652 
Sarah.Perkins@mtsu.edu

Kerri French-Nelson
Kerri French-Nelson
Academic Advisor

Africana Studies  
English
History
(N-Z)

Library 234
615-494-7826
Kerri.French-Nelson@mtsu.edu

 AS
Andrea Smith
Secretary

Library 236
615-904-8567
 
 
 
 
JD
Ja'Net Davis
Academic Advisor

 Foreign Language & Literatures
Global Studies & Human Geography
 Political Science & Int'l Relations
(A-M)
 
Library 230 

YS
Yuchun Schmidt
Assistant Advising Manager

Academic Focus
Foreign Language & Literatures
Global Studies & Human Geography
Political Science & Int'l Relation
  (N-Z)

Library 228
615-494-7753
Yuchun.Schmidt@mtsu.edu