Annual Windham Lecture Series

The Inaugural Windham Lecture began in 1990-1991, with Dr. Dan T. Carter and Dr. Dewy W. Grantham.

  • 2014  Keel Hunt, "Coup:  The Day the Democrats Ousted Their Governor, Put Republican Lamar Alexander in Office Early"
  • 2013  Dr. David Holmes, "The Faiths of the Postwar Presidents
  • 2012  Justice Sandra Day O'Connor
  • 2011  Mr. Bela Fleck
  • 2010  Dr. Douglas Brinkley, "The Wilderness Warrior:  Theadore Roosevelt and the Crusade for America"
  • 2009  Dr. Jared Diamond, "Guns, Germs, and Steel:  The Fates of Human Societies"
  • 2008  Dr. Phillip Furia, Dr. Geoffrey Haydon and Ms. Becky Windham, "The Big Gig in Town:  Jazz Artists at the White House"
  • 2007  Rory Kennedy, "Ghosts of Abu Ghraid"
  • 2004  Dr. Neil Painter
  • 2003  Dr. John Shelton Reed
  • 2002  Jane Alexander
  • 2001  Jimmy Faulkner
  • 2000  Dr. Michael Nelson
  • 1999  Dr. Richard E. Vatz
  • 1997  Dr. Richard Marius
  • 1996  Dr. Kathleen M. Blee
  • 1995  Dr. S. Frederick Starr
  • 1994  Robert Olen Butler
  • 1993  Dr. Susan L. Woodward
  • 1992  Dr. Deane L. Root
  • 1991  Dr. Dan T. Carter and Dr. Dewey W. Grantham

Facebook Icon

Schedule an Advising Appointment

Why Liberal Arts?


Alumni Spotlights


Peter & Kristin Demos

Justin Nelson

Marlene Sanders

Matthew Hibdon

Wayne Haun



New Tenure Track Faculty

CLA Magazine
Fall 2017


OHA Logo 

The executive offices of the
Oral History Association have opened at MTSU and will be here for the next five years.

The office will be co-directed by Albert Gore Research Center Director 
Louis Kyriakoudes and History Professor Kristine McCusker

The offices are located in
217 Peck Hall