The Jennings A. Jones Chair of Excellence in Free Enterprise

The Jennings A. Jones Chair of Excellence in Free Enterprise was established for the purpose of promoting and developing an increased understanding of free enterprise to make students and area residents more knowledgeable about the economic forces that shape their lives and the well-being of this country. The Chair also emphasizes the appropriate relationship between government and business in a free society and has an impact not only on MTSU students but also on the regional community.

The Chair of Free Enterprise seeks to provide opportunities for the campus and middle Tennessee communities to dialog with individuals of national and international reputation. We invite a wide spectrum of persons whose accomplishments are well known and whose presence will enrich our academic and cultural experiences.

The Jones Chair is funded by a $1,250,000 endowment from private and public sources. Donors to the Chair include H. Lynn Greer Jr., Bob Parks, and the families of the late Reese L. Smith Jr. and B. Frank Womack. Jennings A. Jones is the Chair's major benefactor.

Ambassador Joe M. Rodgers was the inaugural chairholder of the Jennings A. Jones Chair of Excellence in Free Enterprise.

Mr. Aubrey B. Harwell Jr. was named the second chairholder on August 1, 2002. Aubrey is managing partner of the Nashville law firm of Neal and Harwell and has an exemplary record as civic activist and fundraiser.

 facebook logo    instagram logo   linkedin logo
 youtube logo  


2023 deans report


college of distinction



Enterprise Magazine Cover

Click to read Enterprise magazine


AACSB logo



Get the College of Business App for Apple or Android!


Business App


Jones College Linktree


Register to Vote!