College of Basic and Applied Sciences Committees

Curriculum Committee - 2015 - 2016 Academic Year

This committee shall have primary responsibility for the curriculum of the College of Basic and Applied Sciences. In this regard, the Committee shall review: 1) all aspects of the educational program of the College; review and approve proposals for earned degrees to be offered and the requirements for them; 2) review and approve all departmental, general educational, and interdisciplinary courses offered by the College; 3) and formulate and review other academic policies and procedures.  

Click here for last year's committees list

Dr. Lisa Green - (Math)) - Chair
Meeting Schedule 
Dr. John P. Divincenzo (Chem) Dr. Kathy Mathis (ET)  8-31-2015 Minutes
Dr. Andrea Georgiou (Aero) LTC Jackie McDowell - (MS) 9-23-2015 Minutes 
Dr. Clay Harris - (Geos) Dr. Dennis Mullen - (Bio) 10-16-2015 Minutes
Dr. Ron Henderson - (Physics) Dr. Nate Phillips (ABAS) 12-2-2015 Minutes
Dr. Marcus Knight (CIM) Dr. Medha Sarkar (CS) 1-26-2016 Minutes
Dean & Associate Dean Ad Hoc Members 3-15-2016 Minutes 
    4-19-2016 Minutes


Retention Committee -  (3-year term)

The Retention Committee shall 1) propose ways to improve and maintain the quality of academic advising in the College and the University in consultation with faculty and department officials; 2) identify educational issues and needs related to the retention of students generally or specific student populations 3) make recommendations regarding possible response options to the issues and 4) organize programs and events that would improve student connections to the college, departments, and faculty. 

Dr. Rhonda Hoffman (ABAS) - Chair - 2-year term 
Dr. Mark Abolins (Geo)  3-year term
Dr. Chuck Higgins - (Physics) 2-year term
Dr. Nancy McCormick - (Math) 1-year term
Dr. Tammy Melton (Chem) 3-year term
Dr. Anthony Newsome (Bio) 1-year term
Ms. Mimi Thomas Ad Hoc Member
Ms. Jennifer Danylo Ad Hoc Member
Ms. Suzanna Wassom Ad Hoc Member

 Research Committee -  (3-year term)

The Research Committee shall 1) recommend policies and programs which promote and facilitate research and scholarship in the College 2) work with ORS to identify, recommend and facilitate procedural changes that would streamline the grant submission and administrative processes 3) recommend policy and programs which promote and facilitate research and grant participation in the college 4) develop strategies for strengthening the graduate programs and 5) nominate CBAS candidates for the Distinguished Research Award. 

Dr. Bill Stewart (BIO) - Chair - 2-year term 
 Research Videos 
Dr. Kevin Bicker - (Chem)  1-year term Fall 2015
Dr. Hyrum Carroll (CSCI)  3-year term Spring 2015
Dr. Norma Dunlap (Chem)  3-year term Fall 2014
Dr. Bill Robertson - (Physics)  1-year term  
Dr. Holly Spooner - (ABAS)  2-year term  
Ms. Rose Johnson Ad Hoc Member  

Awards Committee - (2-year term)

The Awards Committee shall:  1) determine awards to be presented by CBAS, 2) develop and establish the criteria for each award, 3) formulate and publicize an annual agenda and calendar for the awards process, 4) seek nominations throughout the college community, 5). develop and distribute supporting nomination documents, 6) select finalists based upon the selection criteria, 7) forward award finalists to the CBAS Dean, and 8) continuously review and realign selection criteria as appropriate 
Dr. Martin Stewart (Chem) - Chair - 2-year term
Meeting Schedule 
Mr. Ayaz Ahmed - (CIM) 2-year term 9-23-2015  Minutes
Dr. Jeremy Aber - (Geos) 2-year term 11-4-2015  Minutes
Mr. Tyler Babb - (Aero) 2-year term 11-17-2015 Minutes
Dr. Song Cui - (ABAS 1-year term 3-14-2016   Minutes
Ms. Jennifer Danylo (CBAS Staff) 1-year term 3-21-2016  Minutes
Mrs. Marlene Lawson (CBAS Staff) 1-year term 4-4-2016  Minutes
Dr. Mary Martin - (Math) 1-year term 4-11-2016  Minutes
Dr. Erin E. McClelland - (Bio) 2- year term 4-18.2016  Minutes
Dr. Joshua L. Phillips  - (CS) 2-years term    
Dr. Sid Sridhara - (ET) 1- year term