College of Basic & Applied Sciences Committees 2016-2017 Academic Year


Curriculum Committee -  (1-year term)

This committee shall have primary responsibility for the curriculum of the College of Basic and Applied Sciences. In this regard, the Committee shall review: 1) all aspects of the educational program of the College; review and approve proposals for earned degrees to be offered and the requirements for them; 2) review and approve all departmental, general educational, and interdisciplinary courses offered by the College; 3) and formulate and review other academic policies and procedures.  

Previous committee assignments:  2014-2015     2015-2016

Dr. John Divincenzo (Chem) - Chair    Meeting Scedule - Minutes
Dr. Donald Crews - (Aero) Dr. Rachel Leander (Math)  09-21-16 - Minutes
Dr. Kevin Downs - (ABAS) Dr. Kathy Mathis (ET)  10-19-16 - Minutes
Dr. Brian Frank - (Physics) Dr. Dennis Mullen (Bio)  11-09-16 - Minutes
Mr. Tom Gormley - (CIM) Col. Jackie McDowell (MS)  12-07-16 - Minutes
Dr. Clay Harris - (Geo) Dr. Medha Sarkar (CS)  02-03-17 - Minutes
Dean and Associate Dean Ad Hoc Members  02-24-17 - Minutes
     03-31-17 - Minutes
    04-24-17 - Minutes

Retention Committee -  (3-year term)

The Retention Committee shall 1) propose ways to improve and maintain the quality of academic advising in the College and the University in consultation with faculty and department officials; 2) identify educational issues and needs related to the retention of students generally or specific student populations 3) make recommendations regarding possible response options to the issues and 4) organize programs and events that would improve student connections to the college, departments, and faculty. 

Dr. Rhonda Hoffman (ABAS) - Chair 1-year term
Dr. Mark Abolins - (Geo) 2-year term
Dr. Chuck Higgins -  (Physics) 2-year term
Dr. Mary Martin - (Math) 3-year term
Dr. Tammy Melton - (Chem) 2-year term
Dr. Gail Zlotky - (Aero) 3-year term
Ms. Mimi Thomas - (CBAS Staff) Ad Hoc Member
Ms. Jennifer Danylo - (CBAS Staff) Ad Hoc Member
Ms. Suzanna Wassom - (CBAS Staff) Ad Hoc Member

Research Committee -  (3-year term)

The Research Committee shall 1) recommend policies and programs which promote and facilitate research and scholarship in the College 2) work with ORS to identify, recommend and facilitate procedural changes that would streamline the grant submission and administrative processes 3) recommend policy and programs which promote and facilitate research and grant participation in the college 4) develop strategies for strengthening the graduate programs and 5) nominate CBAS candidates for the Distinguished Research Award. 

Dr. Bill Stewart (Bio) - Chair 1-year term Research Videos
Dr. Norma Dunlap - (Chem) 2-year term Fall 2017 Videos
Dr. Rongjin Haung - (Math) 3-year term  
Dr. Racha Kadiri  - (Geo) 3-year term  
Dr. Mohamed Salem -  (Bio) 2-year term  
Dr. Holly Spooner -  (ABAS) 1-year term  
Ms. Rose Johnson - (CBAS Staff) Ad Hoc member  

Teaching Committee - (1-3 year term)

The purpose of the CBAS Committee on Teaching is to promote excellence in teaching and to provide support for faculty development in the area of pedagogy: (1) Develop and help implement policies and procedures which encourage and reward effective teaching. (2) Create and implement programs, presentations, guest speakers, and workshops in the area of teaching in order to help ensure that faculty members reach their full potential as teachers. (3) Develop a more structured outlet for reflection on both the teaching and learning process and the aspirations and accomplishments of the teaching professionals. (4) Seeks ways to increase opportunities for faculty to engage in productive discussions to invigorate the teaching enterprise as it takes place within, but also outside, the classroom. (5) Recommend new and innovative procedures or evaluation techniques to measure effective teaching. (6) Work closely with the LT&ITC to support the use of formative and self-assessment techniques and materials for promoting faculty professional growth and teaching effectiveness, including strategies for robust student feedback.

In pursuit of these objectives, the committee should pay special attention to nurturing beginning faculty members and supporting faculty at all levels to effectively incorporate innovative strategies, technologies, formats, and best practices.

Dr. Sarah K. Bleiler-Baxter - (Math) – Chair 3 year term
Dr. Vishwas Bedekar - (ET) 1 year term
Dr. Grant E. Gardner - (Bio) 3 Year term
Dr. Melissa Lobegeier - (Geo) 2 year term
Dr. Tammy Melton - (Chem) 1 year term
Dr. Nate Smith - (Physics) 2 Year term

Awards Committee - (2-year term)

The Awards Committee shall:  1) determine awards to be presented by CBAS, 2) develop and establish the criteria for each award, 3) formulate and publicize an annual agenda and calendar for the awards process, 4) seek nominations throughout the college community, 5). develop and distribute supporting nomination documents, 6) select finalists based upon the selection criteria, 7) forward award finalists to the CBAS Dean, and 8) continuously review and realign selection criteria as appropriate
Mr. Tyler Babb - (Aero) - Chair   1 - year term Meeting Schedule 
Dr. Jeremy Aber - (Geos) 1 - year term  9-9-2016 Minutes
Mr. Ayaz Ahmed - (CCM) 1 - year term 10-7-2016  Minutes
Mrs. Mary Lou Cornett - (CBAS Staff) 2-  year term 10-21-2016  Minutes
Dr. Justin Gardner - (ABAS) 2- year term 11-4-2016  Minutes
Dr. Erin E. McClelland - (Bio) 1- year term 12-1-2016  Minutes
Dr. Irina Novozhilova- (CBAS Staff) 2- year term 1-24-2017  Minutes
Dr. Suman Neupane – (Physics) 2 - year term  2-10-2017    Minutes
Dr. Martin Stewart - (Chem) 1- year term    
Dr. Joshua L. Phillips - (CS) 1- years term    
Dr. Antonio F. Saavedra - (ET) 2- year term    
Dr. Andrew Worsey - (Math) 2-year term