Honors Council

The Honors Council meets each semester. The Council is responsible for reviewing and approving departmental courses for Honors credit, as well as Honors Faculty nominations.  All materials for review are placed in D2L.  Meetings take place in the Honors Building Conference Room.  

2023 Honors Council

Fall 2023 Honors Council

Dr. Katherine Mangione receives Honor Council Service Award

Dr. Katherine Mangione, Elementary and Special Education Associate Professor, served as Honors Council Chairperson for the 2023 - 2024 academic year.  Dr. John Vile, Dean, and Dr. Philip Phillips, Associate Dean, appreciate our Council Chairs!  

Dr. Katherine Mangione (center) receives Honors Council Award

2023-2024 Honors Council Members:

Name Dept. Term  
 Katherine Mangione (Chair) EDU/Elementary and Special Ed 2019-24
Teresa Davis BHS/Psychology 2022-24
David Foote BUS/Management 2021-24
Jason Pettigrew LA/World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures 2021-24
Mohammed Albakry LA/English 2022-25
Jackie Gilbert JCOB/Management 2022-25
Robert (Steve) Howard BAS/Biology 2022-25
Michelle Stevens EDU/Educational Leadership 2021-25
Janis Brickey BHS/Human Sciences 2023-26
Scott Handy BAS/Chemistry 2023-26
Dianna Rust UC/University Studies 2023-26
Matthew Taylor ME/Journalism 2023-26


Student Representatives:

Name Term
Dalton Miksa 2023-24
Priscilla Hammermeister 2023-24

Honors College Staff:

Name Dept. 
Dr. John Vile Dean
Dr. Philip Phillips Associate Dean
Judy Albakry Advisor
Laura Clippard Advisor