Furthering their education

MTSU trio earn Goldwater Scholars recognition

Three MTSU students celebrate with university leaders after receiving recognition from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program. From left are University Honors College Dean John Vile, Goldwater Scholarship recipient Chris Ehemann, Goldwater honorable-mention Lauren Rigsby, Goldwater recipient Evan Craig, Honors Adviser Laura Clippard and College of Basic and Applied Sciences Dean Tom Cheatham. Ehemann, a senior from Tullahoma, is majoring in physics and mathematics and received a one-year Goldwater Scholarship. He plans to get a doctorate in theoretical astrophysics and research objects like new stars and black holes. Rigsby, a junior Honors College Buchanan Fellow from Rockvale, Tenn., received an honorable mention from the the Hanover, N.H.-based Goldwater program. She plans to get a degree in medical physics and perform research in radiation oncology. And Craig, a sophomore Buchanan Fellow from Arlington, Tenn., and biology major, received a two-year Goldwater Scholarship. He plans to use his award to continue his molecular-biology research and go to graduate school.

MTSU Photographic Services photo by Andy Heidt