Dr. James M. Buchanan Centennial Birthday Academic Conference

Dr. James M. Buchanan Centennial Birthday Academic Conference

Buchanan 100 Conference

  • Date: October 2-5, 2019
  • Location: Murfreesboro, TN

The University Honors College and the Political Economy Research Institute at Middle Tennessee State University are pleased to host an academic conference to honor and build upon the important scholarship of MTSU alumnus and Nobel laureate, Dr. James M. Buchanan. The event will coincide with the centennial of Dr. Buchanan’s birthday.

The Full Conference Schedule

Wednesday, October 2, 2019  Check in to hotel         3:00 p.m.
  Check-in at registration table 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 3, 2019    Free Breakfast Buffet in Lobby                                          7:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m.
  Session 1: Influences on Buchanan     8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.
  Break                   9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
  Session 2: Democracy 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
  Session 3: Constitutions 1:00p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
  Break 2:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. 
  Keynote Speaker: Dr. Jay Cost  (State Farm Room)            7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Friday, October 4, 2019  Free Breakfast Buffet in Lobby 7:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m.
  Session 4: Public Choice 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.
  Break                                                                             9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
  Session 5: Extensions 10:00a.m. – 11:30 a.m.


Detailed Session Schedule

Please note, the provided conference papers are working papers. Contact the author(s) for permission to cite or quote.

Welcoming Address

Peter J. Boetke (George Mason University)


Session 1: Influences on James M. Buchanan

Peter J. Boettke (George Mason University) and Rosolino Candela (George Mason University) 
                Discussant: Timothy Mathews (Kennesaw State University) 
Giuseppe Eusepi (Sapienza University of Rome) 
                Discussant: Ennio Piano (Middle Tennessee State University) 
Alain Marciano (University of Montpellier) 
                Discussant: Art Carden (Samford University) 

Session 2: Democracy 

Ross Emmett (Arizona State University) 
                Discussant: Lenore Ealy (President, The Philanthropic Enterprise)
William F. Shughart (Utah State University) and Josh T. Smith (Utah State University) 
                Discussant: Steven D. Sprick Schuster (Middle Tennessee State University) 
Viktor J. Vanberg (Walter Eucken Institut) 
                Discussant: John Weymark (Vanderbilt University) 


Session 3: Constitutions                   

Randall G. Holcombe (Florida State University) 
                Discussant: Michael P. Fedrici (Middle Tennessee State University)
John Meadowcroft (King’s College London) 
                Discussant: John R. Vile (Middle Tennessee State University) 
Dennis Mueller (University of Vienna) 
                Discussant: John A. Dove (Troy University)

Session 4: The Academy and Research in Public Choice 

Joshua C. Hall (West Virginia University) 
                Discussant: John C. Bradbury (Kennesaw State University)
Phillip W. Magness (American Institute for Economic Research) 
                Discussant: Josh T. Smith (Utah State University)
Michael D. Thomas (Creighton University) and Diana Thomas (Creighton University) 
                Discussant: Walker Todd (University of Akron) 

Session 5: Appraisals and Extensions

Nicolás Cachanosky (Metropolitan State University of Denver) and Edward Lopez (Western Carolina University) 
                Discussant: Richard J. Grant (Cumberland University)  
Adam G. Martin (Texas Tech University) 
                Discussant: G.P. Manish (Troy University)
Mario Rizzo (New York University) and Malte Dold (Pomona College) 
                Discussant: Nicolás Cachanosky 
Michael C. Munger (Duke University) 
                Discussant: Stephen C. Miller (Troy University) 



Graduate Student Poster Board Presentations:

Emilia J. Suggs (PERI Summer Ph.D. Fellow)

Zeynep Beyhan (PERI Visiting Ph.D. Fellow)

Protik Nandy (PERI Summer Ph.D. Fellow)

Dr. Buchanan, born in Murfreesboro, TN, in 1919, received the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel in 1986 “for his development of the contractual and constitutional bases for the theory of economic and political decision-making.” He is broadly recognized as one of the key founders of the field of public choice, which applies economic reasoning to our understanding of political outcomes and the political institutions that influence those outcomes. Dr. Buchanan’s generous gifts to the University Honors College at MTSU supports the prestigious Buchanan Fellowship Program, MTSU’s premier scholarship awarded to 20 freshman student scholars each year. This academic conference, in addition to celebrating Dr. Buchanan’s scholarship and generosity, will also provide these Buchanan Fellows with an opportunity to engage his intellectual contributions. 

The Political Economy Research Institute, established in 2016, is a joint venture between the Jennings A. Jones College of Business and the University Honors College. The mission of the institute is to engage undergraduate and graduate students with faculty in research that will further the understanding of business and economic principles, as well as their impact on regional, national, and international financial conditions and the wellbeing of society. To advance its mission, the PERI will engage in research and educational programs that uncover the institutions and policies that encourage and enhance human flourishing.



Donate Now Button

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Contact Us