Academic Advising

Mission Statement

The mission of the MTSU academic advising process is to provide a quality, student-centered environment that promotes intellectual growth. This process is dedicated to fostering a collaborative and mentoring relationship among advisors, students and the university community. Students are encouraged to think logically, critically and creatively in order to assume ownership of their lifelong educational goals.

What is the difference between a department/academic advisor and a psychology faculty advisor?  

The department/academic advisor: All psychology majors are automatically assigned one of three department/academic advisors. These advisors help students with their course plans and answer questions about coursework, degree requirements, and candidacy. They also guide students through a variety of support services that enable students to make a successful and holistic transition in the MTSU and global community. The objective of academic advising is to help students understand university, college and degree program policies and requirements. Students keep the same department/academic advisor until they graduate.

See information below to schedule an appointment with your appropriate academic advisor: 

Academic Advising
Academic Classroom Building, Suite 140
615.898.4803

For Students majoring in psychology, schedule with your appropriate advisor below:

Academic Advisors Caseload (Last Name)
Chloe Calhoun A - F
Amy Foster G - O
Candice-Burnom-Coman P - Z

 

To schedule an appointment with your academic advisor (not faculty advisor), please click below or visit the Advising website.

Schedule Advising Appointment

Use your Pipeline username and password for log in.

 

The faculty advisor: A faculty advisor is assigned once students have met the requirements for candidacy and selected an area of interest within the field of psychology. The faculty advisor can address questions related to getting involved in research, career preparation, availability of internships or apprenticeships, course selection, and graduate school preparation.

Students who have achieved candidacy will have both an assigned department/academic advisor and a faculty advisor. Students are encouraged to consult with both advisors, as different advisors serve different purposes and have different areas of expertise.

See information below to schedule an appointment with your faculty advisor: 

Area of Interest

Name

Email

Office

Clinical-Adult

Dr. Chris Tate

James.Tate@mtsu.edu

ACB 257

 

Dr. James Loveless

James.Loveless@mtsu.edu

ACB 361

Clinical-Child

Dr. Kim Ujcich Ward

Kimberly.Ward@mtsu.edu

ACB 373

Counseling

Dr. Chris Tate

James.Tate@mtsu.edu

ACB 257

 

Dr. James Loveless

James.Loveless@mtsu.edu

ACB 361

School

Dr. Aimee Holt

Aimee.Holt@mtsu.edu

ACB 377

Experimental

Dr. Stuart Bernstein

Stuart.Bernstein@mtsu.edu

ACB 357

 

Dr. Will Langston

William.Langston@mtsu.edu

ACB 151

Social

Dr. John Pennington

John.Pennington@mtsu.edu

ACB 387

Developmental

Dr. Teri Davis

Teresa.Davis@mtsu.edu

ACB 365

Cognitive

Dr. Stuart Bernstein

Stuart.Bernstein@mtsu.edu

ACB 357

 

Dr. Will Langston

William.Langston@mtsu.edu

ACB 151

Quantitative

Dr. Ying Jin

Ying.Jin@mtsu.edu

ACB 383

I-O Psychology

Dr. Alex Jackson

Alexander.Jackson@mtsu.edu

ACB 353

 

Dr. Judy Van Hein

Judith.VanHein@mtsu.edu

ACB 375

Undecided

Dr. Michelle Boyer-Pennington

Michelle.Boyer-Pennington@mtsu.edu

ACB 363

 

 

 

Facebook icon

Schedule Advising Appointment

Use your Pipeline username and password for log in.


Department of Psychology
Academic Classroom Building (ACB)
Suite 240

Hours: 8AM - 4:30PM,
Monday-Friday

psychology@mtsu.edu 

(615) 898-2706