Department of Criminal Justice Administration

Rutherford County CourthouseWelcome to the Department of Criminal Justice Administration (CJA) at Middle Tennessee State University. The CJA Department offers programs of study at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. 

At the undergraduate level, students may obtain a Bachelor of Science degree in one of three unique programs: Criminal Justice, Emergency Management & Homeland Security, or Law Enforcement. Minors in either Criminal Justice Administration, Criminal Investigations, and Homeland Security are offered for non-CJA majors.

At the graduate level, students may obtain a Master of Criminal Justice degree by completing either a thesis track (33 hours) or a non-thesis track (36 hours) and successful completion of the written comprehensive examination.  

News, Upcoming Events, & More:

February 9 - The Tom Hall Writer's Series is bringing in Meribah Knight, producer and reporter of the Pulitzer Prize-nominated podcast "The Kids of Rutherford County". Knight explores the world of one juvenile court in Rutherford County--a court shrouded in confidentiality and privacy, which in turn allowed something secretive and illegal to grow. This lecture will take place in COE 160, from 10:20-11:15 a.m.

February 26, 28, 30 - Family Violence Professional Panel Series, hosted by MTSU Human Development and Family Science. Each panel includes experts and practictioners who discuss a separate type of violence. Each panel begins at 2:20 in ACB 106.

February 26 Domestic Violence, Stalking, and Sexual Assault

February 28 Child Abuse

February 30 Elder Abuse

March 4-9 - Spring Break

March 27 - CJA's Annual Career & Networking Event from 10am-2pm

April 24 - Last Day of Classes 

April 25 - STUDY DAY. No classes/exams/mandatory meetings.

April 26-May 2 - Final Exams. See university approved exam schedule. 


Register to Vote!

Use your Pipeline username and password for log in.


Office Phone:


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 238
Middle Tennessee State University
Murfreesboro, TN 37132

Department Main Office:
Academic Classroom Building 230