Jennings A. Jones College of Business Awards

 Jones College Exemplar Award

This award is presented to an alum of Jones College whose personal and professional behavior set an example for current students and alumni.

Award Winner Year
Lori Williams 2022
Cindy Harper 2019
Angie Grissom 2018
Jackie Morgan 2017
Retta Gardner 2016
David Tincher 2015
Steve Anderson 2014
Paul W. Martin Jr. 2013
Kathy and Bill Jones 2012
Tom Boyd 2011
Tom Walker 2010
Charles Myatt 2009
Chuck Pruett 2008
Joe N. Steakley 2007
Bart Gordon 2006
Andy Womack 2005
Bill Mooningham 2004
G. Ron Nichols 2003
Darrell S. Freeman, Sr. 2002
Bob Parks 2001
Hubert L. McCullough, Jr. 2000
W. Andrew Adams 2000
Robert G. Adams 2000
Pamela J. Wright 2000
Andrew Woodfin Miller 2000


Jennings A. Jones Champion of Free Enterprise Award

This award is presented to an individual whose achievements are in keeping with the highest traditions of the American system of Free Enterprise.

Award Winner Title Company Year
Chuck McDowell Founder and CEO Wesley Financial Group 2022
Wanda Lyle President, Managing Director and General Manager Nashville Center UBS Business Solutions US LLC 2019
Deborah Thompson Vice President, Agency Sales, Southeastern Market State Farm 2018
Caren Gabriel President and CEO Ascend Federal Credit Union 2017
Ann and David Hoke Owners Ann Hoke & Associates, HomeFront Properties 2016
Randy Knight Vice President of Manufacturing Nissan 2015
Jim Ayers Chairman of the Board FirstBank 2014
Joey Jacobs Chairman and CEO Acadia Healthcare 2013
J. B. Baker Owner Spring Logistics LLC; Chair, Volunteer Express Inc. and Associated Companies 2012
Mark Emkes Tennessee Commissioner of Finance and Administration   2011
Steve Smith Chairman of the Board Haury & Smith Contractors Inc. 2010
C. M. "Bill" Gatton   Auto Dealerships 2009
Rob McCabe Chairman Pinnacle Financial Partners 2008
Shirley Zeitlin CEO Shirley Zeitlin & Company, Realtors 2007
Mark Pirtle President Mark Pirtle Real Estate (27 years as automobile dealer) 2006
Governor Ned Ray McWherter (Governor of Tennessee 1987-1995)   2005
Lee Moss Chairman & CEO MidSouth Bank 2004
Jack B. Turner   Jack B. Turner & Associates Inc., Clarksville, TN 2003
Cordia W. Harrington Founder Tennessee Bun Company 2002
Andy Bailey President & CEO NationLink Wireless 2001
Gordon E. Inman   Franklin Financial Corporation now Fifth Third Bank 2000
R. Clayton McWhorter Founder and Chairman Clayton Associates LLC 1999
David K. Wachtel Jr.  CEO Restaurant Management Group 1998


Spirit of America Award

This award commemorates the extraordinary accomplishments of Ambassador Joe M. Rodgers in business, government, education, and charitable endeavors.

Jeff Ballard 2022
Shane McFarland 2018
Andy Marshall 2017
Tim Downey 2016
Janet Miller 2015
Robert Harper 2014
Ronnie G. Barrett 2013
Chris Karbowiak 2012
Not awarded 2011
Not awarded 2010
Charlie Daniels 2009
John R. Ingram 2008
Joel C. Gordon 2007
Jack O. Bovender Jr. 2006
Andrea Loughry 2005
Governor Winfield Dunn 2004
Tommy Smith 2003
Bud Wendell 2002
Jack Vaughn 2001
Aubrey B. Harwell Jr. 2000
Bob Corker 1999
Marvin Runyon 1998


Young Professional of the Year

This award recognizes someone who, at a relatively young age, has already been a role model whose accomplishments are outstanding and an inspiration to others—but who has the potential to rise to even greater heights.

Award Winner Year
Megan Bynum 2022
Matthew Stump 2019
Brian Walsh 2018
Kyle Motley 2017
Lorelei Samuelson 2016
Scott Brisson 2015


 facebook logo    instagram logo   linkedin logo
 youtube logo  


2023 deans report


college of distinction



Enterprise Magazine Cover

Click to read Enterprise magazine


AACSB logo



Get the College of Business App for Apple or Android!


Business App


Jones College Linktree


Register to Vote!