Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the principal representative body of the faculty and is responsible for its own organization and procedures, policies, and regulations, as well as other matters referred to it by the President, Provost, administration, faculty or students of the University.

The Faculty Senate has the responsibility to promote policies which set and maintain the efficacy of the academic programs. At the same time, the Faculty Senate advocates for the faculty and academic policies within the University Community at large. The MTSU Faculty Senate shall further have those duties and powers delegated to it by the faculty of the University. Such duties and powers shall at all times be consistent with the legally prescribed roles of the faculty and its relationship to the administrative staff.

Articles of Shared Governance at MTSU


MTSU Faculty Senate
James Union Building (JUB), Room 100 C
MTSU P.O. Box 921
Murfreesboro, TN 37132

Stephen B. Salter
MTSU Faculty Senate President, 2022-2023
Professor, Accounting
Middle Tennessee State University
MTSU P.O. Box 50
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
(615) 898-2668
Office Location: JUB 100 C



Please report any corrections to the website to facultysenate@mtsu.edu .