Zeta Phi Beta


True Blue Accreditation Status: Meets Expectations

Spring 2023 Cumulative GPA: 3.18
Click here for additional GPA information

Organization Name: Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. 
Chapter Name:
Mu Theta
National Website: www.zphib1920.org
Founded Nationally: January 16, 1920
Founded Locally: September 17, 1977
Philanthropy: March of Dimes Foundation, Relay for Life, Toys for Tots, Zeta Helping Others Excel (Z-HOPE) 
Flower: White Rose
Symbol: Dove
Colors: Royal Blue and White

Photo of Zeta Phi Beta women

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 16, 1920 at Howard University in Washington D.C. Zeta was founded by five women: Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Pearl Anna Neal, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Viola Tyler Goings, and Fannie Pettie Watts. These women envisioned a sorority that was not overshadowed by sorority elitism and socialization. Therefore, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded on the principles of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood, and Finer Womanhood.

The Mu Theta Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded September 17, 1977 by Gwendolyn Taylor, Barbra Gail Atkins, Gail Clemmons, and Cheryl Denise Giles. On April 25, 2016, the Mu Theta Chapter was awarded Intercultural and Diversity Affairs Impact Sorority of the Year.