Association of Graduate Students in History

The Association of Graduate Students in History (AGSH) at Middle Tennessee State University was founded in 1995 making it the oldest student organization at Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU). AGSH exists to foster community within the History Department, encourage faculty-student dialogue, and serve as a forum for intellectual exchange amongst graduate students. These activities are promoted through both formal events and informal gatherings. AGSH puts forth a concerted effort to ensure all MA History, MA Public History, and Ph.D. Public History students are familiar with one another and with all department happenings. Our monthly meetings are open to history graduate students and provide an excellent venue to connect with other students and to better understand the HIstory Department. AGSH also works closely with MTSU's Center for Student Involvement and Leadership to ensure its members receive support for attending and presenting at academic conferences.

Graduate Students Happy Hour

A sampling of AGSH activities includes the following:

  • Monthly First Friday happy hours: all graduate students, faculty, and staff convene at a local restaurant for food, drinks, and fun in a casual setting
  • Research Presentation opportunities: any graduate students are welcome to join their peers in a relaxed environment to discuss their ongoing (or recently completed) conference presentations, journal articles, or seminar papers as well as to plan future conference attendance
  • Brown Bags and Seminars: graduate students and faculty are welcome to put torgether topics for workshops and seminars. Past topics include networking, crafting cover letters, and applying for jobs after graduate school

AGSH Constitution

2023-2024 Executive Board and Committee Members

President: Michaela Wegman
Vice President: Kelsey Fritz
Treasurer: Abby Jo Mullis
Secretary: AnnaLevi Chavis
Public History Committee Reps: Bethany Hollingsworth (MA) & Parvez Rahaman (PhD)
Graduate Committee Reps: Kaitlin Sultenfuss (MA) 

Faculty Advisor: Andrew Fialka

Facebook Icon   Twitter Icon

Register to Vote!

Main Office
Peck Hall 223

Department Chair
Emily Baran

(615) 904-8164

(615) 898-5798

Other Inquiries
(615) 898-2631