The Graduate Council at
Middle Tennessee State University

The Graduate Council plays a crucial role in the oversight and planning of all MTSU graduate courses and graduate degree programs, in establishing criteria for the appointment and re-appointment of Graduate Faculty, in assessing graduate student issues and concerns, and in recommending to the dean of the College of Graduate Studies university-wide policies and procedures for implementation. The Graduate Council advises in the modification of existing programs and in the approval and implementation of any new programs. All student work towards advanced degrees proceeds under the policies and regulations established and reviewed by academic departments, the Graduate Council, and the College of Graduate Studies.

The Graduate Council provides leadership in the pursuit of excellence in scholarly activity and serves as an advocate in obtaining resources for graduate program. Only full-time MTSU faculty who have previously been appointed to the Graduate Faculty may serve on the Graduate Council. Council members are appointed by the President to serve three-year terms with three faculty representatives per college. Two graduate student representatives who meet all graduate academic standards are also appointed. To ensure continuity and institutional memory in the creation and implementation of policies and procedures, one Council member from each college is replaced each year. Graduate students are appointed to the Council each academic year and the graduate college deans and the six academic deans serve as ex-officio members. The vice chair, who conducts meetings in the absence of the chair and who serves as chair-elect, and the recording secretary of the Graduate Council are elected annually. The chair, in consultation with the dean of the College of Graduate Studies, is responsible for setting the Council's agenda.